Clermont County Notary Commission
NOTARY COURSES WILL RESUME THE WEEK OF MAY 18TH. CLASS SIZES WILL BE LIMITED SO PLEASE BE PATIENT.
PLEASE TAKE SPECIAL NOTE : Senate Bill 263 took effect on March 20, 2019 giving the Secretary of State the authority to draft administrative rules and to implement a new notary process which took effect in Ohio on September 20, 2019 (which includes 1 hour of education/training for notaries renewing their commission and 3 hours of education/training and testing for new applicants.
NEW PROCEDURES began September 20th, 2019.
The purpose of this Notary Commission is to provide the required education and testing approved through the Ohio Secretary of the State who in turn commissions notaries public. At this time, education courses and testing are all done onsite.
A “Notary Public” is a public officer of the State of Ohio, a position created by the Ohio Legislature. Ohio law provides that no applicant may be appointed as a notary public in Ohio unless applicant is a citizen eighteen years of age or older and a resident of Ohio. Residency not required if applicant is an attorney authorized to practice law by the Ohio Supreme Court and has a primary practice located within the State of Ohio.
A Notary’s duty is to attest to the genuineness of any deeds or writings in order to render them available as evidence of the facts therein contained. The commission of a notary public is not a license to practice law. A notary should not draft legal documents or offer legal advice.
The procedure to sign up for an education course in Clermont County is as follows :
- Call and request a course application (513) 732-7359. Download the application – New or Renewal (link on left). Or stop by the Notary office located in the Clermont County Law Library at 270 E. Main Street, Rm A201, Batavia, Ohio, 45103.
- Return application with payment to: Clermont County Notary Commission , c/o Law Library, 270 E. Main Street, Room A201, Batavia, Ohio 45103.
- Upon receipt of application you will be scheduled for the appropriate education course including a test date (if required). After completing the education course, you will receive a certification of completion to present to the Secretary of State who will then, upon receipt of all required documentation issue your commission.
Questions please call us at (513)-732-7359.